PS4 ragnarok No signs of life

mod-fx2b

Hey guys, pulling my hair out with this one.20160109_184540.jpg 20160109_184540.jpg 20160122_214853.jpg I have triple checked everything with this install and I can't find anything wrong. For starters I have extensive experience with installs for consoles, controllers, mobile phones, and laptops. Now with that aside I'm also experienced enough to know i'm not above mistakes. Unfortunately with this one i can not find any mistakes, no shorts, no bad connections, no crimped wire. Just no signs of life. I originally had all the tacs wired up and have since removed everything but LS RS V and G. I do have 3.2v on the chip measured from G and V on the chip. No LED from chip ever. So this has been a process of double check, plug in ribbon cable from back of controller, plug in usb, no led, open back up check again, plug in ribbon cable,plug in USB, No LED, wash rinse repeat. I'm attaching pics but understand some were prior to me removing all the tacs for elimination. Also in reviewing my pics I've noticed what appears to be a missing solder ball from the PIC and was wondering if this is intentional, could be a manufacturing defect, or might cause it to be DOA?20160122_215350EDIT.jpg

Attachments

• 20160122_215014.jpg
    20160122_215014.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 2

odingalt

Staff member
The Sony PS4 controller has a power saving feature. If the controller isn't talking to a console or a PC (via wired USB), it will power down the trigger circuits. The modchip doesn't work at all (appears dead) when the trigger circuit is powered down. To get the modchip LED driver to ligh tup, the controller must be sync'd to a console or a PC (via wired USB). I have to mention this because I don't think we have it in our documentation, but this has tripped up lots of experienced installers (about 30% of our wholesale clientele on their first try actually). Did you have this thing synced to a nearby console, or plugged into a PC by wired USB?